Deprecated: Optional parameter $type declared before required parameter $page is implicitly treated as a required parameter in /home/smslive/public_html/app/models/MinistryModel.php on line 240
Church & Ministry Directory - Independent Baptist Friends International - Unto the Furtherance of the Gospel
  • Find by Location   
  • Find by Name   

Back to Top
Republic of Cote d'Ivoire


Independent Baptist Friends

COTE D IVOIRE Republic of Cote d'Ivoire

Capital Yamoussoukro
Largest City Abidjan,Lagunes
Land Area 124,504 mi2


  • Total 20,600,000
  • Density 168.0 people/mi2
  • Growth 1.58% per year
  • Children 40.56%
  • Adult 56.57%
  • Elderly 2.873%

Bordering Countries
Burkina Faso, Ghana, Guinea, Liberia, Mali

* Statistics by Wolfram|Alpha. "Christianity" is used in the statistical sense and includes Catholics, Protestants, and true Christians.

Listing in Cote D Ivoire

List a Ministry   ▸

The Republic of Cote d'Ivoire, commonly known in English as Ivory Coast, is a country in West Africa. It has an area of 124,504 square miles, and borders the countries of Liberia, Guinea, Mali, Burkina Faso and Ghana; its southern boundary is along the Gulf of Guinea. The country's population 20,600,000.

Prior to its colonization by Europeans, Cote d'Ivoire was home to several states, including Gyaaman, the Kong Empire, and Baoule. There were two Anyi kingdoms, Indenie and Sanwi, which attempted to retain their separate identity through the French colonial period and after Cote d'Ivoire's independence. An 1843-1844 treaty made Cote d'Ivoire a "protectorate" of France and in 1893, it became a French colony as part of the European scramble for Africa.

Cote d'Ivoire became independent on 7 August 1960. From 1960 to 1993, the country was led by Felix Houphouet-Boigny. It maintained close political and economic association with its West African neighbours, while at the same time maintaining close ties to the West, especially to France. Since the end of Houphouet-Boigny's rule, Cote d'Ivoire has experienced one coup d’etat, in 1999, and a civil war, which broke out in 2002. A political agreement between the government and the rebels brought a return to peace.

Cote d'Ivoire is a republic with a strong executive power invested in the President. Its de jure capital is Yamoussoukro and the biggest city is the port city of Abidjan. The country is divided into 19 regions and 81 departments. It is a member of the Organisation of the Islamic Conference, African Union, La Francophonie, Latin Union, Economic Community of West African States and South Atlantic Peace and Cooperation Zone.

The official language is French, although many of the local languages are widely used, including Baoule, Dioula, Dan, Anyin and Cebaara Senufo. The main religions are Islam, Christianity (primarily Roman Catholic) and various indigenous religions.

Through production of coffee and cocoa, the country was an economic powerhouse during the 1960s and 1970s in West Africa. However, Cote d'Ivoire went through an economic crisis in the 1980s, leading to the country's period of political and social turmoil. The 21st century Ivoirian economy is largely market-based and relies heavily on agriculture, with smallholder cash crop production being dominant.

Next » « Previous

Disclaimer: Photos are provided programmatically by Flickr photo services based on geographical keywords. A photo's content appropriateness is subject to a user's discretion. If an objectable photo is found, please contact to report this page.