• Find by Location   
  • Find by Name   

Back to Top
Kyrgyz Republic


Independent Baptist Friends

KYRGYZSTAN Kyrgyz Republic

Capital Bishkek
Largest City Bishkek
Land Area 77,202 mi2


  • Total 5,410,000
  • Density 73.1 people/mi2
  • Growth 1.16% per year
  • Children 29.67%
  • Adult 64.53%
  • Elderly 5.802%

Bordering Countries
China, Kazakhstan, Tajikistan, Uzbekistan

* Statistics by Wolfram|Alpha. "Christianity" is used in the statistical sense and includes Catholics, Protestants, and true Christians.

Listing in Kyrgyzstan

List a Ministry   ▸

Kyrgyzstan, officially the Kyrgyz Republic is one of the six independent Turkic states together with Turkey, Azerbaijan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Kazakhstan. Located in Central Asia, landlocked and mountainous, Kyrgyzstan is bordered by Kazakhstan to the north, Uzbekistan to the west, Tajikistan to the southwest and People's Republic of China to the east. Its capital and largest city is Bishkek.

"Kyrgyz" is believed to have been derived from the Turkic word for "forty", in reference to the forty clans of Manas, a legendary hero who united forty regional clans against the Uyghers. At the time, in the early 9th century AD, the Uyghers dominated much of Central Asia (including Kyrgyzstan), Mongolia, and parts of Russia and China.

By extension, Kyrgyz is also thought to mean "unconquerable" or "undefeatable".

The 40-ray sun on the flag of Kyrgyzstan is a reference to those same forty tribes and the graphical element in the sun's center depicts the wooden crown of a yurt -- a portable dwelling traditionally used by nomads in the steppes of Central Asia.

Next » « Previous

Disclaimer: Photos are provided programmatically by Flickr photo services based on geographical keywords. A photo's content appropriateness is subject to a user's discretion. If an objectable photo is found, please contact support@baptistfriends.org to report this page.