• Find by Location   
  • Find by Name   

Back to Top
Cooperative Republic of Guyana


Independent Baptist Friends

GUYANA Cooperative Republic of Guyana

Capital Georgetown
Largest City Georgetown,Demerara-M...
Land Area 83,000 mi2


  • Total 763,437
  • Density 10.0 people/mi2
  • Growth 0.131% per year
  • Children 25.74%
  • Adult 68.71%
  • Elderly 5.545%

Bordering Countries
Brazil, Suriname, Venezuela

* Statistics by Wolfram|Alpha. "Christianity" is used in the statistical sense and includes Catholics, Protestants, and true Christians.

Listing in Guyana

List a Ministry   ▸

Disclaimer: This directory is designed to serve only as a listing of Independent Baptist churches and ministry resources. It is not an endorsement of any particular ministry. Learn More »

Guyana, officially the Co-operative Republic of Guyana and previously known as British Guiana, is a sovereign state on the northern coast of South America that is culturally part of the Anglophone Caribbean. Guyana has been a former colony of the British, Dutch, French and for 200 years the Spanish. It is the only state of the Commonwealth of Nations on mainland South America, and is also a member of the Caribbean Community (CARICOM), which has its secretariat headquarters in Guyana's capital, Georgetown. Guyana is also one of the few Caribbean countries which are not islands. Guyana achieved independence from the United Kingdom on 26 May 1966 and became a Republic on 23 February 1970.

Historically, the region known as "Guiana" or "Guayana" comprised the large shield landmass north of the Amazon River and east of the Orinoco River known as the "Land of many waters". Historic Guyana is made up of three Dutch colonies: Essequibo, Demerara, and Berbice. Modern Guyana is bordered to the east by Suriname, to the south and southwest by Brazil, to the west by Venezuela, and on the north by the Atlantic Ocean.

At 83,000 square miles, Guyana is the third-smallest independent state on the mainland of South America (after Uruguay and Suriname). Its population is approximately 770,000. Guyana is one of the four non-Spanish-speaking territories on the continent, along with Brazil (Portuguese), Suriname (Dutch) and French Guiana (French).

Next » « Previous

Disclaimer: Photos are provided programmatically by Flickr photo services based on geographical keywords. A photo's content appropriateness is subject to a user's discretion. If an objectable photo is found, please contact support@baptistfriends.org to report this page.


Results of Search

Displaying 1-3 of 3 listings in Guyana


Missionary to Guyana

David and Kelly Owens
N/A, Guyana


Missionary to Guyana

Isaac Husinger
N/A, Guyana
(219) 308-5099


Missionary to Guyana

Steve Larsen
Marumba Post Office NW District; Region1
Feitosa, Guyana 57042-780